Follow Literature & Movies on WordPress.com

Explicit Reviews On Books, Tv Shows and Movies.

8 YA Books To Read If You Love ACOTAR By Sarah J. Maas

8 YA Books To Read If You Love ACOTAR By Sarah J. Maas

 

Trust me, I know that feeling. The ACOTAR hungover is real. After finishing ACOTAR series and trying to wait for the next book to be published, it took everything inside me to not go back and just re-read the series all over again. To avoid that, I find myself spending hours and hours trying to find a book or a series that evokes the same feelings and love for the character ACOTAR did.

And being that I don’t want anyone to go through the hardship of spending hours of scouring the internet for books like ACOTAR like I did, I have compiled a list of books or series that brings something new to the table, yet at the same time still give me the ACOTAR vibe. Not to mention, the world needs more characters like Rhysand.

Without further ado, here we go! 

 

 

8 Books You Should Read If You Love ACOTAR By Sarah J. Maas

Click here to get “Six of Crows” by Leigh Bardugo

 

1. Six of Crows ( Six of Crows #1)

 

Genre  : Fantasy, Young Adult, Fiction 

Type    : Duology 

Status : Completed 

 

BLURB : 

 

Ketterdam: a bustling hub of international trade where anything can be had for the right price–and no one knows that better than criminal prodigy Kaz Brekker. Kaz is offered a chance at a deadly heist that could make him rich beyond his wildest dreams. But he can’t pull it off alone…

A convict with a thirst for revenge.

A sharpshooter who can’t walk away from a wager.

A runaway with a privileged past.

A spy known as the Wraith.

A Heartrender using her magic to survive the slums.

A thief with a gift for unlikely escapes.

Six dangerous outcasts. One impossible heist. Kaz’s crew is the only thing that might stand between the world and destruction—if they don’t kill each other first.

 

 

WHAT I THINK : 

 

If you have never read the Six of Crows duo-logy, you are simply missing out.

Six of Crows contains everything you can ever ask for in a YA fantasy novel.

Wild adventures? Check. Squad goals? Check. A bunch of dry humor and sarcasm? Check. Possible relationship developments? Check. 

I am a big fan of romance, and I am usually very reluctant in reading books that doesn’t contain a whole bunch of romance in them. However, Six of Crows effortlessly made it work unlike all the other YA fantasy books that I have read before. I went into this one completely blind as to what it is about, I didn’t even read the blurb. So color me surprised when I came out on the other side fangirling and dying to get my hands on the next book.

The writing style is superb. The plot fantastic. The suspense as they go through each and every one of their heists, captivating. This book is, more of less like a black hole. As soon as you open the book and start reading, it immediately sucks you in and grab your attention from the very first page to the last. 

 

 

 

8 Books You Should Read If You Love ACOTAR By Sarah J. Maas

Click here to get “Shadow and Bone” by Leigh Bardugo

 

2. Shadow and Bone (The Grishaverse #1)

 

Genre  : Fantasy, Young Adult, Fiction, Romance

Type    : Trilogy 

Status : Completed 

 

BLURB : 

 

Surrounded by enemies, the once-great nation of Ravka has been torn in two by the Shadow Fold, a swath of near impenetrable darkness crawling with monsters who feast on human flesh. Now its fate may rest on the shoulders of one lonely refugee.

Alina Starkov has never been good at anything. But when her regiment is attacked on the Fold and her best friend is brutally injured, Alina reveals a dormant power that saves his life—a power that could be the key to setting her war-ravaged country free. Wrenched from everything she knows, Alina is whisked away to the royal court to be trained as a member of the Grisha, the magical elite led by the mysterious Darkling.

Yet nothing in this lavish world is what it seems. With darkness looming and an entire kingdom depending on her untamed power, Alina will have to confront the secrets of the Grisha . . . and the secrets of her heart.

 

WHAT I THINK : 

 

There is only one reason why this book is included in this list : The Darkling

To be honest, the plot in this book wasn’t exactly mind-blowing. It was okay, it was able to keep my interest, but other than that, it truly does nothing more. The other main character, Alina Starkov, is a tad bit too whiny and immature for my taste. The supporting characters also wasn’t exactly memorable since while I am writing this right now I am trying to recall anyone of them that holds my interest or attention in any sort of way, but I cannot.

The only reason why I keep reading the Grisha series all the way till the end is because of The Darkling. He truly is the main – if not only – driving force that keeps me going. My need to know anything and everything I can about his character and his desire for Alina when she so obviously hates and detests him overwhelms my indifference to the story plot.

The Darkling is more or less like Rhysand, but he is way darker and twisted than Rhysand. Not to mention, throughout the book, Rhysand shows and proves that he has some redeemable qualities which makes us readers turn him from one of the bad guys to one of the good guys. But with The Darkling, he simply has none. And what more is that he doesn’t care. His main focus throughout the first book is his goal and how Alina can help him achieve it, but as the story progresses,  he starts to have feelings for her.

Which brings me to my next point why I adore The Darkling so much. His interaction with Alina. Their interactions are always filled with dislike or hatred (at least from Alina’s side), but not only that, it is also filled with sexual tension. I kid you not, the tension between them is so thick that you can slice it with a knife. The constant push and pull between these two captivates me and makes me constantly wonder how their relationship is going to develop. Not to mention, who doesn’t love a well written anti-hero?

 

 

8 Books You Should Read If You Love ACOTAR By Sarah J. Maas

Click here to get “Vampire Academy” by Richelle Mead

 

3. Vampire Academy (Vampire Academy #1)

 

Genre  : Fantasy, Young Adult, Paranormal, Vampires, Romance

Type    : Trilogy 

Status : Completed 

 

 

BLURB : 

 

Only a true best friend can protect you from your immortal enemies . . .

Lissa Dragomir is a Moroi princess: a mortal vampire with a rare gift for harnessing the earth’s magic. She must be protected at all times from Strigoi; the fiercest vampires – the ones who never die. The powerful blend of human and vampire blood that flows through Rose Hathaway, Lissa’s best friend, makes her a dhampir. Rose is dedicated to a dangerous life of protecting Lissa from the Strigoi, who are hell-bent on making Lissa one of them.

After two years of freedom, Rose and Lissa are caught and dragged back to St. Vladimir’s Academy, a school for vampire royalty and their guardians-to-be, hidden in the deep forests of Montana. But inside the iron gates, life is even more fraught with danger . . . and the Strigoi are always close by.

Rose and Lissa must navigate their dangerous world, confront the temptations of forbidden love, and never once let their guard down, lest the evil undead make Lissa one of them forever . . .

 

 

WHAT I THINK :

 

I read this series when vampires are still all the hype after Twilight, and I cannot get enough of them. Which is when I happen to stumble upon this book, and immediately, irrevocably, fell in love.

When I picked up this book, I honestly expected it to be another book like Twilight, but was my mind blown when the main female character is this quirky and badass girl who is able to handle her own and spews out sarcasm like it’s nobody’s business? Yes.

Rose’s job ; all her life, all the classes that she goes to, all her training has been for one thing and one thing only, to protect the mortal vampires. Which in short, is to protect her bestfriend, Lissa Dragomir. For that, she has to train and be strong to be able to fend off any sorts of danger that might come Lissa’s way. Therefore, she needs a teacher to help her train and teach her how to fight. And that teacher happens to be, Dimitri Belikov. 

Do you get where I am trying to get to with that? Yes, it is a forbidden romance between teacher and student. And I loved every. single. second. of. it.

I am nothing if not my love for angsty romance. And trust me when I say, this book brings a hell lot of angst to the table. Also some really bad-ass action scenes. To die for best-friend goals. And have I mentioned a hell lot of dry humor and sarcasm? 

 

 

8 Books You Should Read If You Love ACOTAR By Sarah J. Maas

Click here to get “Hush Hush” by Becca Fitzpatrick

 

4. Hush Hush (Hush Hush #1)

 

Genre  : Fantasy, Young Adult, Paranormal, Angels, Romance

Type    : Tetralogy 

Status : Completed 

 

BLURB : 

 

A SACRED OATH
A FALLEN ANGEL
A FORBIDDEN LOVE

Romance was not part of Nora Grey’s plan. She’s never been particularly attracted to the boys at her school, no matter how hard her best friend, Vee, pushes them at her. Not until Patch comes along. With his easy smile and eyes that seem to see inside her, Patch draws Nora to him against her better judgment.

But after a series of terrifying encounters, Nora’s not sure whom to trust. Patch seems to be everywhere she is and seems to know more about her than her closest friends. She can’t decide whether she should fall into his arms or run and hide. And when she tries to seek some answers, she finds herself near a truth that is way more unsettling than anything Patch makes her feel.

For she is right in the middle of an ancient battle between the immortal and those that have fallen – and, when it comes to choosing sides, the wrong choice will cost Nora her life.

 

 

WHAT I THINK :

 

Okay. Before we start talking about this book, I think we need to first lay out some ground rules so I don’t get mobbed with pickaxes while I talk about Hush Hush. I get that there are a lot of mixed feelings when it comes to this series, and after reading the reviews on the book, I summarize that you either love it or hate it, with passion. There is no middle ground when it comes to Hush Hush series. Which comes to my next point : I love this series. With passion. 

Please don’t throw tomatoes my way *runs and hides behind the bushes*

 

Anyways, joking aside, I truly enjoyed this series. And most of it is all because of Patch – yes that is his name. I’m not sure about everyone else, but to me, he is the kind of asshole-ish playboy that you can’t seem to resist obsessing about. I have always had this kind of interest when it comes to playboy characters. I don’t know what it is about them, but there is just something about these kind of characters that never fails to pique my curiosity. And you know I can’t resist a book where the character is done right.

In a way, Patch does reminds me a lot about Rhysand. Patch is way more playful in a sense, and more daring and easy going which makes his character so easy to love and relate to. If you are looking for a book character that gives almost the same vibe that Rhysand exudes, definitely check this one out. 

 

 

8 Books You Should Read If You Love ACOTAR By Sarah J. Maas

Click here to get “Clockwork Angel” by Cassandra Clare

 

5. Clockwork Angel (The Infernal Devices #1)

 

Genre  : Fantasy, Young Adult, Paranormal, Steampunk, Sci-Fi, Romance

Type    : Trilogy 

Status : Completed 

 

BLURB : 

 

In a time when Shadowhunters are barely winning the fight against the forces of darkness, one battle will change the course of history forever. Welcome to the Infernal Devices trilogy, a stunning and dangerous prequel to the New York Timesbestselling Mortal Instruments series.

The year is 1878. Tessa Gray descends into London’s dark supernatural underworld in search of her missing brother. She soon discovers that her only allies are the demon-slaying Shadowhunters—including Will and Jem, the mysterious boys she is attracted to. Soon they find themselves up against the Pandemonium Club, a secret organization of vampires, demons, warlocks, and humans. Equipped with a magical army of unstoppable clockwork creatures, the Club is out to rule the British Empire, and only Tessa and her allies can stop them…

 

 

WHAT I THINK :

 

Will Herondale. Will Herondale. Will Herondale. 

What is more to say? That two words says everything you need to know about this series. When it comes to the Infernal Devices series, I see no one and nothing but Will. Other main characters, who? Supporting characters, who? Other love interests, who?

Nobody and nothing else matters but the safety and happiness of my tiny little cinnamon roll named Will Herondale. I will fight anyone who tells me otherwise. 

 

If you have read any of Cassandra Clare’s work, you know this woman knows how to write romance. Another thing she is better at than writing and building up the romance is the angst. Oh, you have no idea how many times I have cried over Will and his undying love for Tessa, or about his past. He is generally a very sassy, sarcastic and mean-ish character. However, unlike most characters, he does not do it for the heck of it, he does it to push people away so they don’t get too close to him. I am not going to tell you why he does that because I don’t want to spoil anything, but there is a plausible reason why he acts the way he does.

But despite all his acts that he doesn’t need anyone, or that he doesn’t care about the people around him, Tessa seems to be able to see right through him. And thus begins the most epic and emotionally exhausting (in a good way) love story I have ever read to date.

It has been years since I finished this series, and whenever I think back to it, I remember the story like I just read it yesterday. Will’s character is definitely unique and different in his own way, and even after all these years of looking, I still cannot find any other characters that comes even close to Will Herondale. Cassandra Clare truly deserves a standing ovation for breathing life into such a scarred, broken yet still very pure and lovable character. 

 

 

8 Books You Should Read If You Love ACOTAR By Sarah J. Maas

Click here to get “The Iron King” by Julie Kagawa

 

6. The Iron King (The Iron Fey #1)

 

Genre  : Fantasy, Young Adult, Paranormal, Fairies, Fae, Romance

Type    : Heptalogy (seven books)

Status : Completed 

 

BLURB : 

 

Meghan Chase has a secret destiny; one she could never have imagined.

Something has always felt slightly off in Meghan’s life, ever since her father disappeared before her eyes when she was six. She has never quite fit in at school or at home.

When a dark stranger begins watching her from afar, and her prankster best friend becomes strangely protective of her, Meghan senses that everything she’s known is about to change.

But she could never have guessed the truth – that she is the daughter of a mythical faery king and is a pawn in a deadly war. Now Meghan will learn just how far she’ll go to save someone she cares about, to stop a mysterious evil, no faery creature dare face; and to find love with a young prince who might rather see her dead than let her touch his icy heart

 

 

WHAT I THINK :

 

When it comes to looking for characters and storyline like ACOTAR, I don’t think you can go any closer than this. Just like ACOTAR, The Iron Fey series focuses on Fae and Fairies. And it gives readers a Lucien-like character, Puck. And of course, a Rhysand, which in this book takes the name of Ash. 

I found this book completely by accident, and by the time I finish it, I already know I am obsessed. Just like it is with ACOTAR, it does take me a little while to warm up with the magical world and the characters, but once I did, I went through so fast it was hard to catch my breath. Not to mention, when in ACOTAR you only get 3 books of Rhysand – cause the next installment to the series is going to be about other characters, please correct me if I’m wrong – in this series you get 7 books of Ash. I get excited even thinking about it, plus there isn’t one moment where I find myself bored by the storyline and character development. 

Truly, if like me, you love and adore ACOTAR series , you don’t want to miss out on this one. Trust me, this bundle of epic-ness is everything. 

 

 

8 Books You Should Read If You Love ACOTAR By Sarah J. Maas

Click here to get “Shatter Me” by Tahereh Mafi

 

7. Shatter Me (Shatter Me #1)

 

Genre  : Fantasy, Young Adult, Dystopia, Romance

Type    : Hexalogy (six books)

Status : On going series

 

 

BLURB : 

 

I have a curse
I have a gift

I am a monster
I’m more than human

My touch is lethal
My touch is power

I am their weapon
I will fight back

Juliette hasn’t touched anyone in exactly 264 days.

The last time she did, it was an accident, but The Reestablishment locked her up for murder. No one knows why Juliette’s touch is fatal. As long as she doesn’t hurt anyone else, no one really cares. The world is too busy crumbling to pieces to pay attention to a 17-year-old girl. Diseases are destroying the population, food is hard to find, birds don’t fly anymore, and the clouds are the wrong color.

The Reestablishment said their way was the only way to fix things, so they threw Juliette in a cell. Now so many people are dead that the survivors are whispering war – and The Reestablishment has changed its mind. Maybe Juliette is more than a tortured soul stuffed into a poisonous body. Maybe she’s exactly what they need right now.

Juliette has to make a choice: Be a weapon. Or be a warrior.

 

 

 

WHAT I THINK :

 

I think out of all the books I have listed so far, this book is the one that is the most different genre wise. 

First of all, unlike all the books before this one, it is Dystopian. So the storyline and plot is understandably darker and more depressing. The main female character in Shatter Me also takes me a while to warm up to since she is such a broken and timid character, which I am not used to, since most of the characters I read are strong and hard-headed. The writing style is also different in this once as the author seems to take up liking to very flower proses and hyperboles. 

But despite all that, I find myself really liking the story and eventually, the writing style as well. The reason why I included this series on the list is because of Warner. Compared to Rhysand, I think you can say that he is more ruthless and a tad bit more uptight. But seeing the setting of this book and the condition of his upbringing, it is understandable that Warner grows up to be the way he is.

Despite the 180 differences in the setting of the story with ACOTAR, I find a lot of similarities between Rhysand and Warner’s character. I definitely recommend this series if you haven’t already read it. 

I also write a detailed review on this book, click here to check it out .

 

 

 

8 Books You Should Read If You Love ACOTAR By Sarah J. Maas

Click here to get “The Forbidden Game” by L.J. Smith

 

8. The Forbidden Game (The Forbidden Game #1-3)

 

Genre  : Fantasy, Young Adult, Paranormal, Romance

Type    : Trilogy 

Status : Completed series

 

BLURB : 

 

When Jenny buys a game for her boyfriend, Tom, she finds herself inexplicably drawn to the guy behind the counter. There is something mysteriously alluring about Julian’s pale eyes and bleached-blond hair. And when he places the Game into her hands, she knows their connection is something deeper.

But as Jenny and her six friends begin to play the Game at Tom’s birthday celebration, a night of friends and fun quickly turns into a night of terror and obsessive love. Because the Game isn’t just a game – it’s the seven friends’ new reality, where Julian reigns as the Prince of the Shadows.

One by one the friends must confront their phobias to win the Game. To lose the Game is to lose their lives. And that is only the beginning…

 

 

WHAT I THINK :

 

To summarize, The Forbidden Game is kind of like an ouija board that goes wrong. And as a consequence, those who plays the game are sucked into a whole new and dangerous world of shadows and trickery orchestrated by a shadow man named Julian, where they have to fight their way through to be able to go back home. 

The female protagonist, Jenny, somehow caught the attention of Julian and from then on, Julien does his best to make things as difficult and impossible to win as he possibly can so that he can trap Jenny in the shadow world forever with him. However, the more Julian interacts with Jenny, he gradually starts to understand her more and inevitably falls in love with her. He wants Jenny to be happy, and the only way for her to be happy is if he lets her go. But there will be consequences for his actions. Will he do it? For Jenny? For love?

 

 

I am actually quite sad that this book did not get more recognition from readers because this truly is a masterpiece. 

I too, wouldn’t have known this book existed had it not been for my friend who recommended it to me and continuously reminded me to read it. And I am so glad I took her advice because this book easily slides in and now lies snugly in my best read of all time list. 

The one word I would use to describe Julian’s character is : unpredictable. 

I think it is what make this character so interesting. I never know what it is that he is going to do next, what he is thinking or feeling. He is the epitome of poker face, but with more tricks up his sleeves than any other characters I have ever read before. I will even go as far as saying that he might be a little bit deranged with his obsession for Jenny. But despite all that, L.J.Smith manages to make it all work without it being all too overwhelming.

I wholeheartedly recommend this book to everyone, not only to those who enjoy and love ACOTAR, but everyone who enjoy reading this genre. This is truly one of the best and unique series I have ever read. This book, if not for anything else, is a must read. 

 

“Reality,” Julian said, flashing a smile, “has teeth and claws. And since that’s true, wouldn’t you rather be one of the hunters than one of the hunted?”

 

 

 

That is all for my list of books that gives off the ACOTAR feel and that has characters like Rhysand . I really hope this list helps you discover new books that you haven’t read before. If you have any other suggestions or any more books like ACOTAR that you know of that is not in this list, feel free to sound off in the comment sections below! 

Happy reading! xx

 

 

 



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.