Follow Literature & Movies on WordPress.com

Explicit Reviews On Books, Tv Shows and Movies.

5 Books You Should Read If You Love Dark and Twisted Romance

5 Books You Should Read If You Love Dark and Twisted Romance

 

I don’t know what it is about dark, twisted and mind-fuck themed books, but there is just something about it that holds a special place in my heart. 

Granted, I don’t read this genre on the daily –  your girl needs her daily dose of lovey-dovey too. But when I am in the mood for some dark and gritty reads, I go ham on it. There has been times when I went months and months straight just reading dark themed books. 

With all of that book-reading-experience under my belt, I would like to think that I am qualified enough to dish out a list of recommendations on some good dark reads. So if you are looking for some quality, mind-blowing book to sink your teeth into, look no further because the books that will be listed below has been my favorites for years. 

Plus, if you are like me, and you love reading dark and twisted books from time to time, you are probably already familiar with a lot of the books that I will be listing down below. However, for those of you who are new into this genre, and are looking to test the water, trust me when I say : you are in for a wild ride. 

 

 

5 Books You Should Read If You Love Dark and Twisted Romance

Click here for the review

1. Captive in The Dark (The Dark Duet #1)

 

Genre : Dark, Adult Fiction, BDSM, Erotica

Type : Trilogy 

 

BLURB : 

 

aleb is a man with a singular interest in revenge. Kidnapped as a young boy and sold into slavery by a power-hungry mobster, he has thought of nothing but vengeance. For twelve years he has immersed himself in the world of pleasure slaves searching for the one man he holds ultimately responsible. Finally, the architect of his suffering has emerged with a new identity, but not a new nature. If Caleb is to get close enough to strike, he must become the very thing he abhors and kidnap a beautiful girl to train her to be all that he once was.

Eighteen-year-old Olivia Ruiz has just woken up in a strange place. Blindfolded and bound, there is only a calm male voice to welcome her. His name is Caleb, though he demands to be called Master. Olivia is young, beautiful, naïve and willful to a fault. She has a dark sensuality that cannot be hidden or denied, though she tries to accomplish both. Although she is frightened by the strong, sadistic, and arrogant man who holds her prisoner, what keeps Olivia awake in the dark is her unwelcome attraction to him.

WARNING: This book contains very disturbing situations, dubious consent, strong language, and graphic violence.

 

 

5 Books You Should Read If You Love Dark and Twisted Romance

Click here for the review

2. Twist Me (Twist Me #1)

 

Genre : Dark, Adult Fiction, BDSM, Erotica

Type : Trilogy 

 

BLURB : 

 

Kidnapped. Taken to a private island.

I never thought this could happen to me. I never imagined one chance meeting on the eve of my eighteenth birthday could change my life so completely.

Now I belong to him. To Julian. To a man who is as ruthless as he is beautiful – a man whose touch makes me burn. A man whose tenderness I find more devastating than his cruelty.

My captor is an enigma. I don’t know who he is or why he took me. There is a darkness inside him – a darkness that scares me even as it draws me in.

My name is Nora Leston, and this is my story.

WARNING: This is NOT a traditional romance. It contains disturbing subject matter, including themes of questionable consent and Stockholm Syndrome, as well as graphic sexual content. This is a work of fiction intended for a mature, 18+ audience only. The author neither endorses nor condones this type of behavior.

 

 

5 Books You Should Read If You Love Dark and Twisted Romance

click here for the review

3. Beautiful Liar (Dark Desires #1)

 

Genre : Dark, Adult Fiction, Erotica, BDSM, Contemporary 

Type : Standalone (plus novella : Wicked S.O.B)

 

BLURB : 

Previously titled as I, Pornstar 

 

My name is Quinn Blackwood:

By day, I’m a billionaire CEO. Rich. Entitled.By night, I’m the exclusive porn star only known as Q.Why? Because I love women. If I believed in an almighty being, I’d thank him for creating them. They’re by far his most perfect creation… especially when I’m fucking one of them.

Oh, did I mention I’m an asshole? Fuck yeah. According to my shrink, I’m one twisted motherfucker. And that’s just the way I like it. Until she walks into my life…

My name is Elyse Gilbert, nicknamed ‘Lucky’ because according to my dad, I’m the unluckiest person alive, and I’ll die the same way I came into the world: naked, screaming, and dirt poor.

Yeah, my life is a twisted, seething mess. But that life changed the day I met HIM.He made me forget the cameras.He made me forget I was doing this for the money. He made me forget my shame. He made me forget everything. I was consumed by him. Only him.

But now my past has caught up with me.

 

 

5 Books You Should Read If You Love Dark and Twisted Romance

Click here for the review

4. The Sect (Wicked Trinity #1)

 

Genre : Dark, Adult Fiction, Suspense, Erotica, BDSM

Type : Trilogy 

 

BLURB : 

 

WARNING: This book is not recommended for those with any triggers or sensitivities to violence, torture, dubious and/or absent consent, and deviant sexual acts. This is not a love story.

Keaton Mara ran away from a life that had become a nightmare to live on the streets. While the location she now calls home is a dangerous place, she is protected by an unlikely friendship.

The streets provided her with the education she could’ve never earned from the prestigious university she attended. Regrettably, the term ‘educated fool’ becomes a self-fulfilling prophecy. Due to meeting a man with whom she shares a captivating chemistry with, her judgement is clouded, resulting in a fateful decision.

The consequence of trusting the prepossessing stranger results in her being stolen away to a place unknown. Her deceptive new surroundings are just as beautiful as the people who reside there. She discovers that it’s a place where the culture of sex without limits or morals is their religion.

Keaton quickly begins to realize that the beautiful scenery serves to hide a very dark truth. The seductive and enigmatic man—who lured her there—desires to save her soul. His intentions are sinister, because saving her soul is synonymous with breaking her.
Because Keaton believes her soul was brutally stolen from her many years ago, she thinks he can’t save (or destroy) something she no longer has.

She…was…wrong.

 

 

5 Books You Should Read If You Love Dark and Twisted Romance

 

5. The Tied Man (The Tied Man #1)

 

Genre : Dark, Adult Fiction, Suspense, Erotica, BDSM, Contemporary 

Type : Standalone 

 

BLURB : 

 

Lilith Bresson, an independent, successful young artist, is forced to travel from her home in Spain to the wild borderlands of northern England, to repay her feckless father’s latest debt by painting a portrait of the enigmatic Lady Blaine Albermarle.

On her first night at Albermarle Hall she meets Finn Strachan, Blaine’s ‘companion’, a cultured and hauntingly beautiful young man who seems to have it all. But Lilith has an artist’s eye, and a gift for seeing what lies beneath the skin. She soon discovers that Blaine is more gaoler than lover, and if the price is right, depravity has no limits.

As the weeks pass, Lilith finds that she too is drawn into the malign web that her patron has spun, yet against the odds she forges a strong friendship with the damaged, dysfunctional Finn. In a dark, modern twist to an age-old story, Lilith Bresson proves that sometimes it’s the princess who needs to become the rescuer.

Please note that this storyline contains depictions of drug abuse, violence and non-consensual sexual activity.

 

 



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.