Follow Literature & Movies on WordPress.com

Explicit Reviews On Books, Tv Shows and Movies.

8 LGBTQ+ Books to Read If You Enjoyed Call Me By Your Name

8 LGBTQ+ Books to Read If You Enjoyed Call Me By Your Name

 

Have you ever wondered, when’s a good time to read LGBTQ+ books? 

Answer : all the damn time. 

I don’t know what’s up with me lately, but for some reason, I have been feeling like re-reading Call Me By Your Name. Which is weird, seeing that I didn’t exactly enjoy the book as much as I did the movie. But somehow –– some-freakin-how –– all my mind have been able to think about lately was the fact that I miss Elio and Oliver.

And since your girl is not looking forward to re-reading a book that she didn’t enjoy, she has decided to go another route. Instead of re-reading CMBY, I decided to expose myself to more LGBTQ+ books. Because honestly, we could all use a little dash of that intense romance every once in a while.

 

books like call me by your name

 

And for those of you who are also having a CMBYN fever and are looking for something to quench your thirst, look no further my loves. You have come to the right place. 

 

 

 

 

books like call me by your name

 

1. Enigma Variations 

 

Genre : Fiction, Contemporary Romance, LGBT

Type   : Standalone 

Status : Published 

 

BLURB  :

 

A passionate portrait of love’s contradictory power, in five illuminating stories.

Andre Aciman, who has been called “the most exciting new fiction writer of the twenty-first century” (New York Magazine), has written a novel in Enigma Variations that charts the life of Paul whose loves remain as consuming and covetous throughout adulthood as they were in adolescence. Whether in southern Italy, where as a boy he has a crush on his parents’ cabinet maker, or on a snowbound campus in New England, where his enduring passion for a girl he’ll meet again and again over the years is punctuated by anonymous encounters with men; on a tennis court in Central Park, or a sidewalk in early spring New York, his attachments are ungraspable, transient and forever underwritten by raw desire—not for just one person’s body but, inevitably, for someone else’s as well.

In mapping the most inscrutable corners of desire, Aciman proves to be an unsparing reader of the human psyche and a master stylist of contemporary literature. With language at once lyrical, bare-knuckled, and unabashedly candid, he casts a sensuous, shimmering light over each facet of desire to probe how we ache, want, and waver, and ultimately how we sometimes falter and let go of those who may want only to offer what we crave from them. Behind every step the hero takes, his hopes, denials, fears, and regrets are always ready to lay their traps. Yet the dream of love always casts its luminous halo. We may not always know what we want. We may remain enigmas to ourselves and others. But sooner or later we discover who we’ve always known we were.

 

 

books like call me by your name

 

2. In Youth is Pleasure

 

Genre : Classics, Fiction, LGBT

Type   : Standalone 

Status : Published

 

BLURB  :

 

Against the backdrop of an English country hotel in a languid pre-war summer, Denton Welch’s alter ego, Orvil Pym, examines his early life and formative experiences with a Proustian intensity. An adolescent voyeur, Orvil takes pleasure in the microscopic observation of his relatives and fellow guests, charting their eccentricities and love affairs as faithfully as he exposes his own obsessions. In a highly perceptive Afterword, Jeremy Reed relates the novel to Welch’s life and work, praising it for writing that ‘oscillates between moments of lyrical serenity and outbreaks of psychological disorder.’ Flagrantly controversial on its first publication in 1945, In Youth Is Pleasure will impress new readers with its arresting visual descriptions and its defiance of convention.

 

 

books like call me by your name

 

3. The Price of Salt (Carol)

 

Genre : Classics, Fiction, LGBT > Lesbian, Romance 

Type   : Standalone 

Status : Published

 

BLURB  :

 

Patricia Highsmith’s story of romantic obsession may be one of the most important, but still largely unrecognized, novels of the twentieth century. First published in 1952 and touted as “the novel of a love that society forbids,” the book soon became a cult classic.

Based on a true story plucked from Highsmith’s own life, Caroltells the riveting drama of Therese Belivet, a stage designer trapped in a department-store day job, whose routine is forever shattered by a gorgeous epiphany—the appearance of Carol Aird, a customer who comes in to buy her daughter a Christmas toy. Therese begins to gravitate toward the alluring suburban housewife, who is trapped in a marriage as stultifying as Therese’s job. They fall in love and set out across the United States, ensnared by society’s confines and the imminent disapproval of others, yet propelled by their infatuation. Carol is a brilliantly written story that may surprise Highsmith fans and will delight those discovering her work.

 

 

books like call me by your name

 

4. The Brothers Bishop

 

Genre : M/M Romance, Fiction, Contemporary 

Type   : Standalone 

Status : Published

 

BLURB  :

 

Tommy and Nathan Bishop are as different as two brothers can be. Carefree and careless, Tommy is the golden boy who takes men into his bed with a seductive smile and turns them out just as quickly. No one can resist him – and no one can control him, either. That salient point certainly isn’t lost on his brother. Nathan is all about control. At thirty-one, he is as dark and complicated as Tommy is light and easy, and he is bitter beyond his years. While Tommy left for the excitement of New York City, Nathan has stayed behind, teaching high school English in their provincial hometown, surrounded by the reminders of their ruined family history and the legacy of anger that runs through him like a scar. Now, Tommy has come home to the family cottage by the sea for the summer, bringing his unstable, sexual powder keg of an entourage and the distant echoes of his family’s tumultuous past with him.

 

 

books like call me by your name

 

5. At Swim, Two Boys

 

Genre : Historical Fiction, LGBT, Romance 

Type   : Standalone 

Status : Published

 

BLURB  :

 

Set during the year preceding the Easter Uprising of 1916—Ireland’s brave but fractured revolt against British rule—At Swim, Two Boys is a tender, tragic love story and a brilliant depiction of people caught in the tide of history. Powerful and artful, and ten years in the writing, it is a masterwork from Jamie O’Neill.

Out at the Forty Foot, that great jut of Dublin rock where gentlemen bathe in the scandalous nude, two boys meet day after day. There they make a pact: that Doyler will teach Jim to swim, and in a year, they will swim the bay to the distant beacon of the Muglins rock, to raise the Green and claim it for themselves. As a turbulent year drives inexorably towards the Easter Rising of 1916 and Ireland sets forth on a path to uncertain glory, a tender, secret love story unfolds. Written with verve and mastery in a modern Irish tradition descended from James Joyce and Flann O’Brien, At Swim, Two Boys is a shimmering novel of unforgettable ambition, intensity and humanity.

 

 

books like call me by your name

Click here for detailed review

 

6. The Song of Achilles 

 

Genre : Historical Fiction, Fantasy, Mythology, LGBT, Romance 

Type   : Standalone 

Status : Published

 

BLURB  :

 

Greece in the age of heroes. Patroclus, an awkward young prince, has been exiled to the court of King Peleus and his perfect son Achilles. By all rights their paths should never cross, but Achilles takes the shamed prince as his friend, and as they grow into young men skilled in the arts of war and medicine their bond blossoms into something deeper – despite the displeasure of Achilles’ mother Thetis, a cruel sea goddess. But then word comes that Helen of Sparta has been kidnapped. Torn between love and fear for his friend, Patroclus journeys with Achilles to Troy, little knowing that the years that follow will test everything they hold dear.

Profoundly moving and breathtakingly original, this rendering of the epic Trojan War is a dazzling feat of the imagination, a devastating love story, and an almighty battle between gods and kings, peace and glory, immortal fame and the human heart.

 

 

books like call me by your name

 

7. Giovanni’s Room 

 

Genre : Classics, Fiction, LGBT

Type   : Standalone 

Status : Published

 

BLURB  :

 

Set in the 1950s Paris of American expatriates, liaisons, and violence, a young man finds himself caught between desire and conventional morality. With a sharp, probing imagination, James Baldwin’s now-classic narrative delves into the mystery of loving and creates a moving, highly controversial story of death and passion that reveals the unspoken complexities of the human heart.

 

 

books like call me by your name

 

8. Comfort & Joy

 

Genre : M/M Romance, Contemporary, Fiction 

Type   : Standalone 

Status : Published

 

BLURB  :

 

Ford McKinney leads a charmed life: he’s a young doctor possessing good looks, good breeding, and money. He comes from an old Savannah family where his parents, attentive to his future, focus their energies on finding their son–their golden boy–a girl to marry. But how charmed is this life when Ford’s own heart suspects that he is not meant to spend his life with a woman? His suspicions are confirmed when he meets Dan Crell.

Dan is a quiet man with a great voice. Behind the tempered facade of the shy hospital administrator is a singer who can transform a room with his soaring voice, leaving his listeners in awe and reverence. Ford catches one such Christmas concert and his life is never quite the same; he is touched in a place he keeps hidden, forbidden. When Ford and Dan begin to explore the limits of their relationship, Dan’s own secrets are exposed–and his mysterious and painful childhood returns to haunt him.

In Comfort and Joy Jim Grimsley finds a marriage between the stark and stunning pain of his prize-winning Winter Birds and the passion of critically acclaimed Dream Boy. In this, his fourth novel, he considers pressing questions. How does a man reconcile the child he was raised to be with the man that he truly is? What happens when an adult has to choose between his parents and a lover?

 

 

 



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.