9 Books Similar to Gift of Fear by Gavin de Becker to Read

9 Books Similar to Gift of Fear by Gavin de Becker to Read

 

In this post, I am going to be listing books similar to “Gift of Fear” by Gavin de Becker. Your girl is currently (slowly) making her way through Gift of Fear by Gavin de Becker, and personally, I think more people need to read books like these, especially females.

After reading Gift of Fear, I’m not exaxegerating when I say that I am now more confident in my own intuition and more in touch with myself. In the past where I’d just brush off a bad feeling by reasoning with myself that I was being unreasonable, these days I try to listen and pay more attention to it. 

Gone are the days of me doubting my own intution because of some standard set by society that listening to gut feelings are not the norm. If you’re like me, and have already devoured your way through Gift of Fear and are looking for other books like that, fear no more. Your girl is donning her superwoman cape to save the day! 

 

books like gift of fear

 

The day after Valentine’s day and we’re already talking about self defense and psychopaths. Your girl sure do know how to pick great timing.

 

 

 

 

book like gift of fear

 

1. Left of Bang:How the Marine Corps’ Combat Hunter Program Can Save Your Life

 

Genre : Non-fiction, Military, Psychology, Self-help 

Type   : Standalone

Status : Published

 

BLURB  :

 

— You walk into a restaurant and get an immediate sense that you should leave.

— You are about to step onto an elevator with a stranger and something stops you.

— You interview a potential new employee who has the resume to do the job, but something tells you not to offer a position.

These scenarios all represent LEFT OF BANG, the moments before something bad happens. But how many times have you talked yourself out of leaving the restaurant, getting off the elevator, or getting over your silly “gut” feeling about someone? Is there a way to not just listen to your inner protector more, but to actually increase your sensitivity to threats before they happen?

 

book like gift of fear

 

2. Principles of Personal Defense 

 

Genre : Nonfiction, Military, Self-help, Philosophy 

Type   : Standalone

Status : Published

 

BLURB  :

 

This new edition of Cooper’s classic Principles of Personal Defense – with a fitting tribute by firearms expert Louis Awerbuck and all-new drawings by renowned illustrator Paul Kirchner – presents his timeless theory of individual defensive behavior clearly, concisely, and practically. All free people who aspire to stay that way should read, study, and share the wisdom found within these pages. Considered by many to be one of the greatest books on combat mindset and proper defensive mental conditioning ever written, it deserves a place of honor in every library.

 

book like gift of fear

 

3. Thinking, Fast and Slow 

 

Genre : Non-fiction, Psychology, Self-help, Science, Business 

Type   : Standalone

Status : Published

 

BLURB  :

 

In the highly anticipated Thinking, Fast and Slow, Kahneman takes us on a groundbreaking tour of the mind and explains the two systems that drive the way we think. System 1 is fast, intuitive, and emotional; System 2 is slower, more deliberative, and more logical. Kahneman exposes the extraordinary capabilities—and also the faults and biases—of fast thinking, and reveals the pervasive influence of intuitive impressions on our thoughts and behavior. The impact of loss aversion and overconfidence on corporate strategies, the difficulties of predicting what will make us happy in the future, the challenges of properly framing risks at work and at home, the profound effect of cognitive biases on everything from playing the stock market to planning the next vacation—each of these can be understood only by knowing how the two systems work together to shape our judgments and decisions.

Engaging the reader in a lively conversation about how we think, Kahneman reveals where we can and cannot trust our intuitions and how we can tap into the benefits of slow thinking. He offers practical and enlightening insights into how choices are made in both our business and our personal lives—and how we can use different techniques to guard against the mental glitches that often get us into trouble. Thinking, Fast and Slow will transform the way you think about thinking.

 

book like gift of fear

 

4. Why Zebra Don’t Get Ulcers

 

Genre : Nonfiction, Psychology, Science, Mental Health 

Type   : Standalone

Status : Published

 

BLURB  :

 

Now in a third edition, Robert M. Sapolsky’s acclaimed and successful Why Zebras Don’t Get Ulcers features new chapters on how stress affects sleep and addiction, as well as new insights into anxiety and personality disorder and the impact of spirituality on managing stress.

As Sapolsky explains, most of us do not lie awake at night worrying about whether we have leprosy or malaria. Instead, the diseases we fear–and the ones that plague us now–are illnesses brought on by the slow accumulation of damage, such as heart disease and cancer. When we worry or experience stress, our body turns on the same physiological responses that an animal’s does, but we do not resolve conflict in the same way–through fighting or fleeing. Over time, this activation of a stress response makes us sick.

 

book like gift of fear

 

5. The Unthinkable: Who Survives When Disaster Strikes – and Why

 

Genre : Nonfiction, Psychology, Self-help, Sociology  

Type   : Standalone

Status : Published

 

BLURB  :

 

It lurks in the corner of our imagination, almost beyond our ability to see it: the possibility that a tear in the fabric of life could open up without warning, upending a house, a skyscraper, or a civilization.

Today, nine out of ten Americans live in places at significant risk of earthquakes, hurricanes, tornadoes, terrorism, or other disasters. Tomorrow, some of us will have to make split-second choices to save ourselves and our families. How will we react? What will it feel like? Will we be heroes or victims? Will our upbringing, our gender, our personality–anything we’ve ever learned, thought, or dreamed of–ultimately matter?

Amanda Ripley, an award-winning journalist for Time magazine who has covered some of the most devastating disasters of our age, set out to discover what lies beyond fear and speculation. In this magnificent work of investigative journalism, Ripley retraces the human response to some of history’s epic disasters, from the explosion of the Mont Blanc munitions ship in 1917–one of the biggest explosions before the invention of the atomic bomb–to a plane crash in England in 1985 that mystified investigators for years, to the journeys of the 15,000 people who found their way out of the World Trade Center on September 11, 2001. Then, to understand the science behind the stories, Ripley turns to leading brain scientists, trauma psychologists, and other disaster experts, formal and informal, from a Holocaust survivor who studies heroism to a master gunfighter who learned to overcome the effects of extreme fear.

Finally, Ripley steps into the dark corners of her own imagination, having her brain examined by military researchers and experiencing through realistic simulations what it might be like to survive a plane crash into the ocean or to escape a raging fire.

Ripley comes back with precious wisdom about the surprising humanity of crowds, the elegance of the brain’s fear circuits, and the stunning inadequacy of many of our evolutionary responses. Most unexpectedly, she discovers the brain’s ability to do much, much better, with just a little help.

The Unthinkable escorts us into the bleakest regions of our nightmares, flicks on a flashlight, and takes a steady look around. Then it leads us home, smarter and stronger than we were before.

 

books similar gift of fear

 

6. Without Conscience: The Disturbing World of the Psychopaths Among Us

 

Genre : Psychology, Nonfiction, Mental Health, Mystery 

Type   : Standalone

Status : Published

 

BLURB  :

 

Most people are both repelled and intrigued by the images of cold-blooded, conscienceless murderers that increasingly populate our movies, television programs, and newspaper headlines. With their flagrant criminal violation of society’s rules, serial killers like Ted Bundy and John Wayne Gacy are among the most dramatic examples of the psychopath. Individuals with this personality disorder are fully aware of the consequences of their actions and know the difference between right and wrong, yet they are terrifyingly self-centered, remorseless, and unable to care about the feelings of others. Perhaps most frightening, they often seem completely normal to unsuspecting targets–and they do not always ply their trade by killing. Presenting a compelling portrait of these dangerous men and women based on 25 years of distinguished scientific research, Dr. Robert D. Hare vividly describes a world of con artists, hustlers, rapists, and other predators who charm, lie, and manipulate their way through life. Are psychopaths mad, or simply bad? How can they be recognized? And how can we protect ourselves? This book provides solid information and surprising insights for anyone seeking to understand this devastating condition.

 

books similar gift of fear

 

7. The Body Keeps the Score: Brain, Mind, and Body in the Healing of Trauma

 

Genre : Nonfiction, Psychology, Health 

Type   : Standalone

Status : Published

 

BLURB  :

 

Trauma is a fact of life. Veterans and their families deal with the painful aftermath of combat; one in five Americans has been molested; one in four grew up with alcoholics; one in three couples have engaged in physical violence. Such experiences inevitably leave traces on minds, emotions, and even on biology. Sadly, trauma sufferers frequently pass on their stress to their partners and children.
 
Renowned trauma expert Bessel van der Kolk has spent over three decades working with survivors. In The Body Keeps the Score, he transforms our understanding of traumatic stress, revealing how it literally rearranges the brain’s wiring—specifically areas dedicated to pleasure, engagement, control, and trust. He shows how these areas can be reactivated through innovative treatments including neurofeedback, mindfulness techniques, play, yoga, and other therapies. Based on Dr. van der Kolk’s own research and that of other leading specialists, The Body Keeps the Score offers proven alternatives to drugs and talk therapy—and a way to reclaim lives.

 

books similar gift of fear

 

8. Violence of Mind: Training and Preparation for Extreme Violence

 

Genre : Psychology, Adventure 

Type   : Standalone

Status : Published

 

BLURB  :

 

A book covering the topic of self-defense from a shocking, first-hand perspective. The subjects of criminal violence, self-defense, lethal force, mindset, firearms training and concealment have never been introduced so comprehensively in one place. Having successfully sold world-wide in its independently published and distributed paperback form, it is now available on Kindle. “A powerful, gripping, and self-reflective roller-coaster that’s part cautionary tale, part how-to book on building the counterpart to the high-order predator, Varg makes no apologies for it being an in-your-face look at real violence from the perspective of that rare someone who can speak from deep personal experience, from both sides of the fence. In an industry littered with those often driven by ego, fantasy, and disconnected from reality, there are a vast number of people in this industry that NEED to read this. A book only an authentic leader in the industry could produce, fully-recommended. Read this book if you’re serious about personal protection.” D.P. Friesen, CLTP, Costa RicaVarg Freeborn is an author, fitness coach, violence educator and lethal force instructor widely known for his unique background in the violent criminal underworld. His breadth of experience is unmatched in criminal violence education and self-defense training.

 

books similar gift of fear

 

9. Dangerous Personalities: An FBI Profiler Shows You How to Identify and Protect Yourself from Harmful People

 

Genre : Psychology, Nonfiction, Personal development, True Crime

Type   : Standalone

Status : Published

 

BLURB  :

 

We seem to wake up to a new tragedy in the news every day—Newtown, Boston, Aurora, Columbine. So often the reporters say that “there were some signs, but nobody acted.” the scary part about these tragedies is that less than 1% of criminals are incarcerated for their crimes, meaning that for every headline, there are millions of dangerous situations in which average people find themselves. On top of that, how can ordinary people identify threats from those who may not hurt them physically but can devastate their lives on a daily basis—the crazy coworkers, out-of control family members, or relentless neighbors?

In Dangerous Personalities, former FBI profiler Joe Navarro shows readers how to identify the four most common “dangerous personalities” and analyze how much of a threat each one can be: the Narcissist, the Predator, the Paranoid, and the Unstable Personality. Along the way, readers learn how to protect themselves both immediately and long-term—as well as how to recover from the trauma of being close to such a destructive force.

 

 

 

Other posts:

 



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.