9 Romance Novels Similar to A Court of Silver Flames By Sarah J. Maas

9 Romance Novels Similar to A Court of Silver Flames By Sarah J. Maas

 

The new novels, A Court of Silver Flames by Sarah J. Maas just came out a few days ago. And with all the hype that your girl has been hearing about it ever since, it seriously has made me every impatient to hurry up and finish the book that I’m currently reading so that I can also get on the hype train with everyone else.

To be quite honest, this post is as much for you, dear readers, as it is for me. Your girl has been on her non-fiction book streak for almost a year now, and while I could feel my brain getting heavier with all the information that I have been absorbing from non-fiction novels, for some reason I am yearning to come home to fiction books. There is just something so comforting about losing yourself in a good book, and I feel like A Court of Silver Flames would be a great book to welcome me back into the world of fiction. 

I am writing this post to prepare myself for the emotional rollercoaster and the book hangover that I am sure is to come. When I couldn’t get myself to pick up a new book after A Court of Silver Flames because I was still hung up over their epic romance novel, you can be sure that you’ll find me hiding somewhere in the bushes going through the list of novels that I have listed here. 

 

books like court silver flames

 

Anyways, enough with my mumble-jumble. We’re here to look to romance novels that are similar to A Court of Silver Flames, so let us get started. 

 

 

 

books like court silver flames

 

1. Graceling (Graceling Realm #1)

 

Genre : Fantasy, Young Adult, Romance 

Type   : Tetralogy (4 books)

Status : Completed series 

 

BLURB  :

 

Katsa has been able to kill a man with her bare hands since she was eight—she’s a Graceling, one of the rare people in her land born with an extreme skill. As niece of the king, she should be able to live a life of privilege, but Graced as she is with killing, she is forced to work as the king’s thug.

She never expects to fall in love with beautiful Prince Po.

She never expects to learn the truth behind her Grace—or the terrible secret that lies hidden far away . . . a secret that could destroy all seven kingdoms with words alone.

With elegant, evocative prose and a cast of unforgettable characters, debut author Kristin Cashore creates a mesmerizing world, a death-defying adventure, and a heart-racing romance that will consume you, hold you captive, and leave you wanting more.

 

books like court silver flames

 

2. Kushiel’s Dart (Kushiel’s Universe #1)

 

Genre : High Fantasy, Adult Fiction, Erotice, Romance 

Type   : Ennealogy (9 books)

Status : Completed series 

 

BLURB  :

 

The land of Terre d’Ange is a place of unsurpassing beauty and grace. It is said that angels found the land and saw it was good… and the ensuing race that rose from the seed of angels and men live by one simple rule: Love as thou wilt.

Phèdre nó Delaunay is a young woman who was born with a scarlet mote in her left eye. Sold into indentured servitude as a child, her bond is purchased by Anafiel Delaunay, a nobleman with very a special mission… and the first one to recognize who and what she is: one pricked by Kushiel’s Dart, chosen to forever experience pain and pleasure as one.

Phèdre is trained equally in the courtly arts and the talents of the bedchamber, but, above all, the ability to observe, remember, and analyze. Almost as talented a spy as she is courtesan, Phèdre stumbles upon a plot that threatens the very foundations of her homeland. Treachery sets her on her path; love and honor goad her further. And in the doing, it will take her to the edge of despair… and beyond. Hateful friend, loving enemy, beloved assassin; they can all wear the same glittering mask in this world, and Phèdre will get but one chance to save all that she holds dear.

Set in a world of cunning poets, deadly courtiers, heroic traitors, and a truly Machiavellian villainess, this is a novel of grandeur, luxuriance, sacrifice, betrayal, and deeply laid conspiracies. Not since Dune has there been an epic on the scale of Kushiel’s Dart-a massive tale about the violent death of an old age, and the birth of a new.

 

books like court silver flames

3. The Final Empire (Mistborn #1)

 

Genre : High Fantasy, Science Fiction, Adult Fiction 

Type   : Heptalogy (7 books)

Status : On-going series 

 

BLURB  :

 

For a thousand years the ash fell and no flowers bloomed. For a thousand years the Skaa slaved in misery and lived in fear. For a thousand years the Lord Ruler, the “Sliver of Infinity,” reigned with absolute power and ultimate terror, divinely invincible. Then, when hope was so long lost that not even its memory remained, a terribly scarred, heart-broken half-Skaa rediscovered it in the depths of the Lord Ruler’s most hellish prison. Kelsier “snapped” and found in himself the powers of a Mistborn. A brilliant thief and natural leader, he turned his talents to the ultimate caper, with the Lord Ruler himself as the mark.

Kelsier recruited the underworld’s elite, the smartest and most trustworthy allomancers, each of whom shares one of his many powers, and all of whom relish a high-stakes challenge. Only then does he reveal his ultimate dream, not just the greatest heist in history, but the downfall of the divine despot.

But even with the best criminal crew ever assembled, Kel’s plan looks more like the ultimate long shot, until luck brings a ragged girl named Vin into his life. Like him, she’s a half-Skaa orphan, but she’s lived a much harsher life. Vin has learned to expect betrayal from everyone she meets, and gotten it. She will have to learn to trust, if Kel is to help her master powers of which she never dreamed.

This saga dares to ask a simple question: What if the hero of prophecy fails?

 

books like court silver flames

 

4. Poison Study (Poison Study #1)

 

Genre : Fantasy, Young Adult, Romance, Fiction 

Type   : Hexalogy (6 books) 

Status : Completed series

 

BLURB  :

 

Choose: A quick death… or slow poison…

About to be executed for murder, Yelena is offered an extraordinary reprieve. She’ll eat the best meals, have rooms in the palace—and risk assassination by anyone trying to kill the Commander of Ixia.

And so Yelena chooses to become a food taster. But the chief of security, leaving nothing to chance, deliberately feeds her Butterfly’s Dust—and only by appearing for her daily antidote will she delay an agonizing death from the poison.

As Yelena tries to escape her new dilemma, disasters keep mounting. Rebels plot to seize Ixia and Yelena develops magical powers she can’t control. Her life is threatened again and choices must be made. But this time the outcomes aren’t so clear…

 

books like court silver flames

 

5. An Ember in the Ashes (An Ember in the Ashes #1)

 

Genre : High Fantasy, Young Adult, Science Fiction, Romance 

Type   : Tetralogy (4 books) 

Status : Completed series 

 

BLURB  :

 

Laia is a slave. Elias is a soldier. Neither is free.
 
Under the Martial Empire, defiance is met with death. Those who do not vow their blood and bodies to the Emperor risk the execution of their loved ones and the destruction of all they hold dear.
 
It is in this brutal world, inspired by ancient Rome, that Laia lives with her grandparents and older brother. The family ekes out an existence in the Empire’s impoverished backstreets. They do not challenge the Empire. They’ve seen what happens to those who do.
 
But when Laia’s brother is arrested for treason, Laia is forced to make a decision. In exchange for help from rebels who promise to rescue her brother, she will risk her life to spy for them from within the Empire’s greatest military academy.
 
There, Laia meets Elias, the school’s finest soldier—and secretly, its most unwilling. Elias wants only to be free of the tyranny he’s being trained to enforce. He and Laia will soon realize that their destinies are intertwined—and that their choices will change the fate of the Empire itself.

 

novels court silver flames

 

6. Caraval (Caraval #1) 

 

Genre : High Fantasy, Young Adult, Romance, Mystery 

Type   : Trilogy 

Status : Completed series

 

BLURB  :

 

Scarlett Dragna has never left the tiny island where she and her sister, Tella, live with their powerful, and cruel, father. Now Scarlett’s father has arranged a marriage for her, and Scarlett thinks her dreams of seeing Caraval—the faraway, once-a-year performance where the audience participates in the show—are over.

But this year, Scarlett’s long-dreamt-of invitation finally arrives. With the help of a mysterious sailor, Tella whisks Scarlett away to the show. Only, as soon as they arrive, Tella is kidnapped by Caraval’s mastermind organizer, Legend. It turns out that this season’s Caraval revolves around Tella, and whoever finds her first is the winner.

Scarlett has been told that everything that happens during Caraval is only an elaborate performance. Nevertheless she becomes enmeshed in a game of love, heartbreak, and magic.

 

Sarah j maas books

 

7. Cinder (The Lunar Chronicles #1)

 

Genre : Fantasy, Science Fiction, Young Adult, Retelling 

Type   : Tetralogy (4 books)

Status : Completed series 

 

BLURB  :

 

Humans and androids crowd the raucous streets of New Beijing. A deadly plague ravages the population. From space, a ruthless Lunar people watch, waiting to make their move. No one knows that Earth’s fate hinges on one girl. . . . Cinder, a gifted mechanic, is a cyborg.

She’s a second-class citizen with a mysterious past, reviled by her stepmother and blamed for her stepsister’s illness. But when her life becomes intertwined with the handsome Prince Kai’s, she suddenly finds herself at the center of an intergalactic struggle, and a forbidden attraction. Caught between duty and freedom, loyalty and betrayal, she must uncover secrets about her past in order to protect her world’s future.

 

Sarah j maas books like

 

8. Cruel Beauty (Cruel Beauty #1) 

 

Genre : Fantasy, Young Adult, Romance, Retellling 

Type   : Trilogy

Status : Completed series

 

BLURB  :

 

Since birth, Nyx has been betrothed to the evil ruler of her kingdom-all because of a foolish bargain struck by her father. And since birth, she has been in training to kill him.

With no choice but to fulfill her duty, Nyx resents her family for never trying to save her and hates herself for wanting to escape her fate. Still, on her seventeenth birthday, Nyx abandons everything she’s ever known to marry the all-powerful, immortal Ignifex. Her plan? Seduce him, destroy his enchanted castle, and break the nine-hundred-year-old curse he put on her people.

But Ignifex is not at all what Nyx expected. The strangely charming lord beguiles her, and his castle—a shifting maze of magical rooms—enthralls her.

As Nyx searches for a way to free her homeland by uncovering Ignifex’s secrets, she finds herself unwillingly drawn to him. Even if she could bring herself to love her sworn enemy, how can she refuse her duty to kill him? With time running out, Nyx must decide what is more important: the future of her kingdom, or the man she was never supposed to love.

 

Sarah j maas books like

 

9. The Iron King (The Iron Fey #1)

 

Genre : Fantasy, Young Adult, Romance 

Type   : Ennealogy (9 books) 

Status : On-going series

 

BLURB  :

 

Meghan Chase has a secret destiny; one she could never have imagined.

Something has always felt slightly off in Meghan’s life, ever since her father disappeared before her eyes when she was six. She has never quite fit in at school or at home.

When a dark stranger begins watching her from afar, and her prankster best friend becomes strangely protective of her, Meghan senses that everything she’s known is about to change.

But she could never have guessed the truth – that she is the daughter of a mythical faery king and is a pawn in a deadly war. Now Meghan will learn just how far she’ll go to save someone she cares about, to stop a mysterious evil, no faery creature dare face; and to find love with a young prince who might rather see her dead than let her touch his icy heart.

 

 

 

 

Other posts:

 



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.